Yum

Many years ago, when I first saw this thing called Linux and found that I could use it everyday (in the college Lab), it intrigued me so much that I spent days and nights with it. Learning new things every day.

I remember this particular story – trying to get MPlayer work on my friend’s desktop running RedHat 9. Only the college lab had internet connection, I was downloading the RPM, finds that it is too big to fit in a Floppy disk, so I cut it into smaller KB files, doing round trips from Lab to hostel room, finally stitch them together and try to install it. Then I got into fighting the ‘dependency hell’ – MPlayer had a lot of dependencies, so I have to then search for the dependencies individually in rpm.pbone.net and download all these RPMS, copy them into the floppy and try to install them all together – of course using ‘rpm -ivh‘. That, then would result into a new level of dependency, missing dozens of libxyz.so files. The end of the story is that I did manage to install MPlayer and play videos.

And then Fedora Core emerged. With it, we found Yum as the package manager and instantly found that it can solve the dependencies for me! Ever since then, the one single command I have run most would be “yum”. Over the years it gained a lot of new features and stability.

I have recently learned the tragic demise of Seth Vidal who developed yum; and though I never knew him personally; he has touched someone’s life at the other end of the world. Thank you, Seth.

4 thoughts on “Yum

  1. With active input from many highly talented administrators and a very energetic open source development team, yum has become a very powerful tool indeed, capable of working such dark magic as safely upgrading a system from one distribution release to the next while the system is operating, as well as installing packages, updating packages, providing information about installed and available packages, and much more, all while operating many times faster than yup was able to do.

Leave a Reply

