Mobile broadband : NetworkManager, you are the man!

Last night, I received a USB mobile broadband modem (commonly called Datacard, from Tataindicom) from my project manager as I’ll be away for a week and have to connect remotely. I took it to the Windows XP machine, connected to USB port, and got a bubble “Your hardware is not recogzined” message after those funny “Install driver” screens. I went back to him and got a small software provided by the vendor to connect. After installing it and clicking the “Connect” button, it got connected.

I left office, reached home and did boot up my Fedora 10 laptop, and then plugged in the Datacard. Few seconds later, the red blinking light turned green and I cliked on the NetworkManager applet to see avilable connections. Doh – “Auto Mobile Broadband Connection” is there! I checked the log files and saw that HAL and DBus conspired together with NM to make that happen. 🙂

I chose that connection, NM tried to connect, but failed. I was puzzled at what could be the problem, so checked the connection by editing it, and guessed that I need a username/password. Thankfully, I came across this post, and gave the username/password as “internet”. I tried to connect, and it got connected the next second!

cdma_connection

Next time I find another guy arguing about the ‘user friendliness’, I going to punch straight on his face with no questions asked.

Well, as I mentioned many times elsewhere, NetworkManager is the best thing that happened in Linux desktop in quite some years. Great piece of engineering.

6 thoughts on “Mobile broadband : NetworkManager, you are the man!

  1. What hypocrisy is this?

    On a Microsoft platform, the whole process is merely installing a piece of software, which perhaps every grandmother and her dog is familiar with.

    On Linux, your best bet is to go online, search and hope and desperately pray that someone somewhere has had the same issue you are having and has found a fix, or perhaps go on a wild goose chase through forums and what not.

    And Linux is more user friendly? More specifically, an operating system released in 2008 is more user friendly than one released over 7 years ago? Really?

  2. @ Onkar – thanks for the link. No, I don’t think Fedora ships Mobile Broadband Provider info (yet).

    @ anonymous – Dear anonymous, first off – there’s no need to be an anonymous to register your difference of opinion in this blog.

    There are multiple issues that need reply/clarification:

    1. Let’s talk about “A mobile broadband Modem”, not the platform. Why? Because, it _should_ be platform agnostic. I might use MacOS, OpenSolaris, even Minix; and I _need_ the modem to _work_.

    2. To make that modem usable, _only_ thing needed is a username/password, not-another-software-which-can’t-be-run-anywhere-else.

    3. In the light of point #1 and #2, I shouldn’t be restricted to use a proprietary software/platform to use that piece of Hardware. Which is why “that software to connect to internet” is bad.

    4. I knew I only need the username and password. How am I supposed to get the username/password out of that software?

    5. Do you intend to say that an OS released 7 years ago is never patched/updated? Bad.

    And no, the granny-forum-goose-chase argument is pretty old, get rid of it.

    Well, NetworkManager does not only this. It does a lot of fantastic things. And additionally – this one.

  3. Let me know when NM doesn’t break your connection when it or dbus gets restarted. It might actually be useful then.

  4. @ anonymous2 : First statement to anonymous earlier is applicable to you, as well.

    What else do you expect when “classic” ‘service network restart’ happens? Did ever DBus or NM gets restarted ‘automagically’? Only root can do that, hm? You shot yourself in the foot, now don’t cry.

  5. Anonymous is a troll.
    Fedora released 7 years ago. Was he sleeping for 7 years or what?
    Installing a piece of software is easy? Then why are you ranting about going online and installing? Is you have to install a piece of software both in Linux and Windows, your points are nullified.

Leave a Reply

